My God, Give Yourself to Me

My God, I love you above all else,
and I desire to walk with you all the days of my life.
Always and in all things with my whole heart and strength I seek you.
If you do not give yourself to me, you give me nothing.
If I do not find you, I find nothing.
Grant, therefore, most gracious God,
that I may always love you for your own sake more than anything else,
and seek you always and everywhere in this present life,
so that at the last I may find you
and forever hold fast to you in the life to come.
Grant this for the sake of Jesus Christ our Lord.

Source: Thomas Bradwardine

Source of this version: Modified from  https://skyejethani.com/devotionals/2014/10/29/gods-not-chicken/

Also found here: http://www.ccel.org/ccel/potts/prayermiddle.xiii.pr129.html

Published by

pastorstratman

Lutheran pastor serving St. Stephen's in Beaver Dam, Wisconsin.

Leave a Reply

